Associate Professor Smt. Madhumati Patra, M.A , B.Ed
Associate Professor Smt. Sunrita Mitra, M.A., M. Phil
Associate Professor Dr Elizabeth Dey, M.A., Ph. D
Guest Lecturer Smt. Soumita Mitra, M.A.
Guest Lecturer Smt. Sukanya Roy Choudhury, M.A., MPhil
  • Departmental journal ‘EXPRESSIONS’ published annually since 2008
  • International Literacy Day (8th November) observed every year from 2009 onwards
  • Inter-college departmental student seminar organized annually since 2016 with Loreto College & Rani Birla Girls’ College
  • Surveys on various aspects of education carried out by the students of the dept. once a year since 2018 as summer project
  • Special Lectures by eminent faculty/experts, and student presentations in Active Learning Day programme organised every year
  • First classes in every batch, and Rank holders in the university BA Part III Honours Examination most years, the latest being –

2016 – 1st rank (Sukanya Roy Choudhury)
2017 – 2nd& 3rd ranks
2018 – 11th rank

Programs/webinars/workshops/conferences/special lectures oragnised by the department

Date Title of the program Name of resource person Platform
8.9.20 International Literacy Day Dr. Arundhati Sarkar,Director, Manochetna(Edu’l & Research Wing, Manovikas Kendra) Google Meet
22.2.21 Special Lecture – Communication Skills Smt. Indrani Ray, Asst. Professor, Katwa College Google Meet
24.2.21 Special Lecture – Gandhiji as an Educator Dr. Debika Guha, Associate Professor, Loreto College Google Meet
25.6.21 Inter-college Departmental Students’ Seminar on ‘Sociology of Education’ Chairperson – Dr. Ranjana Banerjee, Associate Professor, Loreto College Google Meet
8.9.21 International Literacy Day Sri Protik Banerjee, State Coordinator, Chattisgarh, Room to Read India Trust Google Meet
JOURNALS § Expression – 2021
ALUMNI i) Nalini Sicka – Principal (Retd.) of Modern High Girls’ School
ii) Dr Srilekha Ghosh (Batch 1972) – Associate Fellow at NUEPA, Educational Consultant at Ford Foundation, India (Retd.), Recepientof West Bengal Govt. Scholarship for Studies abroad (Reading University, U.K), Author of academic volumes on Educational Planning & Administration
iii) Dr Arundhati Sarkar (Batch 1985) – Director, Manochetna Educational & Research Wing, Kolkata
iv) Dr Mita Banerjee – VC, Kanyashree University
v) Vijaya Bhatia (Batch 1985) – Renowned lawyer, Partner of VB Bhatia Law Firm, Kolkata
vi) Sugandha Kumar (Batch 1985) – Principal of ‘I Can Fly’, School for Challenged individuals
vii) Dr Runa Biswas (Batch 1987)– Principal, Sivnath Shastri College
viii) Dr Suryatapa Chatterjee (Batch 2000) – Headmistress, DwarijangalBanamaliVidyabhaban High School, Sandeshkhali
ix) Saraswoti Sharma (Batch 2003) – awarded the prestigious Teach For India Fellowship
x) Aarushi Saha (Batch 2020) – awarded the prestigious Teach for India Fellowship
xi) Numerous alumni working as teachers in various schools across the country and abroad, and as Assistant/Associate Professors in various colleges in India.
Contact Information
Stay in Touch
WhatsApp chat